Insight News

Feb 11th

Klobuchar congratulates award-winning teachers

E-mail Print PDF
prezawardmathWashington, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar met with Stephen Kaback of the Blake School in Minneapolis and with Karen Hyers of Tartan Senior High School in Oakdale, MN, to congratulate them on earning the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in science teaching (Kaback) and mathematics teaching (Hyers). Kaback and Hyers were two of 103 science and math teachers across the country who teach grades seven through 12 who earned the award.

In a statement Klobuchar said, “It was great to meet with the teachers on earning this prestigious distinction. The fields of science, math, and technology have long been the core of America’s strength and competitiveness, and it’s critical that we have exceptional teachers to develop the next generation of leaders in these fields.”

prezawardscienceThe Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to the best pre-college-level math and science teachers, and it is the highest recognition one can receive for teaching in the United States. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Winners of this honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretions.

Klobuchar is the chairman of the Senate Commerce Subcommittee on Competitiveness, Innovation, and Export Promotion, and she has pushed for a greater national emphasis on science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education. At a hearing in May, Klobuchar stressed the importance of STEM education in developing a science and engineering workforce that can succeed in a global economy.


Recent Comments

Powered by Disqus

Facebook Twitter RSS Image Map

Latest show

  • October 20, 2015
    Jessica Jackson, co-pastor, Impact Living Christian Center in South Minneapolis.

Business & Community Service Network