Insight News

Feb 11th

Surprising results in Northside primary

E-mail Print PDF

Aw_primaries.jpg night of tight races and surprising results in the past week's primary elections once again proved that every vote counts.

Pictured: (left to right) Raymond Dehn, Terra Cole, Linda Higgins, Blong Yang, and Joe Mullery

In one of the most highly-contested races, Raymond Dehn bested Terra Cole by just 19 votes (876-857) in the DFL primary for state representative in House District 59B with Ian Alexander in third with 627 votes. Though extremely close, the vote would not trigger an automatic recount according to Patricia Trugeon of the Minnesota Secretary of State's office.

Trugeon said an automatic recount is triggered when the vote margin is within one half of one percent. The margin of votes that separated Dehn from Cole was .81 percent. Trugeon said if there is to be a recount; Cole would have to request it through Hennepin County.

Minnesota House district 59B encompasses the lower portion of North Minneapolis and downtown.

In the nonpartisan race for the District 2 County Commissioner seat, City Councilman Don Samuels received 961 votes even though he announced in July that he was dropping out of the race. The top two, who will move on to the November ballot, are Linda Higgins – who easily outpaced a crowded field with 4,695 votes – and Blong Yang who captured 1,852 votes.

In nonpartisan primaries, the top two vote getters for every open seat move on to runoff in the November general election.

In other races, Rep. Joe Mullery won easily over Marcus Harcus in district 59A and will face Republican Cindy Lilly in the general election. That district covers the upper portion of North Minneapolis.

Congressman Keith Ellison will move on to face Chris Fields in the November general election for the Fifth District U.S. House seat. Ellison easily defeated his two DFL primary opponents, capturing nearly 90 percent of the vote. Field was unopposed on the Republican side.

Controversial Rep. Michele Bachmann breezed through the Republican primary in the Sixth Congressional District. She will face off with Jim Graves in November. Graves ran unopposed in the DFL primary.

In Brooklyn Park the results for the nonpartisan race for East District Member were Peter Crema, 771, Dakota Huseby, 291, Reva Chamblis, 223, David Anderson, 188 and Bernard Omwenga Muko, 125. In the special election for West District seat, just five votes separated Bob Mata (536) from Wynfred Russell (531) with Joseph Meyer Gearin receiving 215 votes.

In Robbinsdale, George Selman captured 640 votes in the race for mayor to move on to face off against Regan Murphy who received 583 votes. In the city's race for Ward 1 Council Member, William Blonigan received 242 votes, Barbara Richardson got 85 votes and Brian Lease had 58.

Recent Comments

Powered by Disqus

Facebook Twitter RSS Image Map

Latest show

  • October 20, 2015
    Jessica Jackson, co-pastor, Impact Living Christian Center in South Minneapolis.

Business & Community Service Network