Muslims can get the COVID-19 vaccine while they are fasting. Because the vaccine does not have nutritional value, it will not invalidate or break the fasting, according to a statement from Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).
The COVID-19 vaccines do not contain pork products, gelatin, animal products, or the live COVID-19 virus.
People getting the COVID-19 vaccine may experience side effects such as pain at the injection point, feeling achy or tired, or having a headache. Some people may have chills or a fever. Some people do not have side effects.
People who experience side effects from the vaccines are allowed to break fast. Any sick person is exempt from fasting and breaking fasting for a medical reason is permissible, the MDH statement said.