Comcast NBCUniversal awards $45,000 in scholarships to Twin Cities seniors

Comcast Twin Cities has awarded $45,000 in scholarships for the 2018-2019 school year to 41 graduating high school seniors as part of the company’s annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, is a one-time, $1,000 scholarship awarded to high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are exceptional students who are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said J.D. Keller, regional vice president, Comcast Twin Cities. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

Comcast hosted a special reception honoring this year’s winners May 17 at the Minnesota State Capitol, attended by family members, supporters, and a variety of local and elected officials. In addition, Nou-Chee Chang of Minneapolis, a senior at Brooklyn Center High School, was selected to receive an additional $4,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship, instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation.

Those honored are Dejra Bishop, Highland Park High School, Nicholas Campion, Academy of Holy Angels, Molly Carroll, Wayzata High School, Erick Castellanos, Roosevelt High School, Saahil Chadha, Minnetonka High School, Nou-Chee Chang, Brooklyn Center High School, Anna Connelly, Eagan High School, Vianka Damas Rosales, Fridley Senior High School, Simon Dungan-Seaver, Open World Learning School, Katelyn Gasperlin, Totino Grace High School, Selam Habtes, Park High School, Azhae’la Hanson, North Community High School, Michael Hunter, Benilde-St. Margaret’s, Collin Invie, Woodbury High School, Makayla Jacobsen, Osseo High School, Lily Jansa, Centennial High School, Edwina Keta, Robbinsdale Cooper High School, Emily Klinker, Coon Rapids High School, Eleanor O’Callaghan, Central High School, Bola Ogunlana, South High School, Elise Patchett, Math and Science Academy, Isabel Patrick Pacheco, Johnson High School, Alexis Ringler, Blaine High School, Maria Rios, Edison High School, R’Elle Robinson, Jennings Experiential High School, Zarina Sementelli, Como Park Senior High School, Ben Smith, Hudson High School (Wisc.), Michaela Snyder, St. Croix Preparatory Academy, William Thao, Mounds Park Academy (Wisc.), Ratsamee Thosaengsiri, Harding High School, Danielle Ungurian, Simley High School, Destiny Washington, Edina High School, Jacob Weinstein, St. Thomas Academy and Mailao Xiong ,Humboldt High School.

In the Twin Cities, Comcast has awarded more than $332,000 to hundreds of area students.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.