Trump Insurrection

Pro-Trump insurrectionists gathered at the US Capitol last week Wednesday, January 6.

This morning, House democrats introduced articles of impeachment against sitting president Donald Trump. It is expected that the house will vote on the articles as early as this week Wednesday.

Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN) last week unveiled a privileged resolution to impeach President Donald J. Trump for high crimes and misdemeanors, co-lead by Reps. David Cicilline, Ted Lieu, Al Green, Hank Johnson, Ayanna Pressley, Rashida Tlaib, Vicente Gonzalez, Jamaal Bowman, Mondaire Jones, Veronica Escobar, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, and Cori Bush.

“This was a violent attempt to interrupt our democratic process. It was a targeted blow at the most essential process that makes us a democracy. It was directly and specifically directed by the president of the United States,” Omar said during a call with press.

Omar said when Trump addressed the people who were in Washington DC to protest the certification of the election Wednesday afternoon the president was inciting “a coup attempt against government.”

On January 6th, 2021, President Trump encouraged individuals who traveled to Washington, District of Columbia to violently attack the United States Capitol while both chambers of Congress were in session. After those supporters had violently breached the Capitol, he put out a further statement repeating his false claims of election fraud and telling the members of the mob, “We love you, you’re very special.”

Additionally, on January 2, 2021, President Trump violated his constitutional duty to uphold the laws of the United States when, on a recorded call, he repeatedly asked Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger to overturn the finalized and verified results of the November 2020 Presidential election in the State of Georgia. President Trump misused the power of his office by threatening an elected official with unspecified consequences if he failed to pursue the President’s false claims and attempting to coerce an elected official to commit fraud. 

“He is a clear threat to our country and democracy. Every day her remains in office is a day the safety of the American people is threatened,” said Omar.

“The administration officials who have been complicit in his crimes cannot be relied upon. He must be impeached and removed from office immediately,” said Omar adding that Congress should convene again to carry out this duty.

“Donald Trump presents a clear, direct threat to our democracy and national security, and yesterday’s acts of white supremacist domestic terrorism on the U.S. Capitol—incited by Trump himself—is further evidence of the danger he presents,” said Massachusetts Rep. Ayanna Pressley in a statement. “Our nation cannot afford one more day with Trump in office. He must be immediately impeached by the House of Representatives and removed from office by the United States Senate. We must act with the urgency to defend our Republic.”

“I’ve called for the impeachment and removal of Donald Trump since the day I arrived in Washington, D.C.,” said Rep. Rashida Tlaib. “Donald Trump is a tyrant that has continued to endanger and bring harm upon the people in the United States. Yesterday’s attack on the Capitol was a continuation of Trump’s destructive reign in this country – he must be impeached again, removed, and barred from ever holding public office again. We cannot wait and hope a peaceful transition of power happens on the 20th, Trump and his supporters have already displayed that peace is nowhere in their minds. It’s time for us to act.”

“Donald Trump incited a violent mob to descend upon the legislative branch, all in an attempt to overturn the results of a free and fair election and undermine the integrity of our democracy,” said Rep. Mondaire Jones. “We must ensure that this is nothing more than a last gasp for Donald Trump and his Republican co-conspirators in the House and Senate. That’s why I’m proud to join my colleagues in calling for impeachment. Hundreds of Donald Trumps in the Republican Party seek to ascend to higher office, and we must send them a message that no one is above the law.”

The bill is also cosponsored by Payne, Jr., Huffman, Newman, Rush, Schakowsky, Wilson, Espaillat, Swalwell, Hayes, Velázquez, Clarke, and DeSaulnier.

Click here for the full text of the resolution.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.