Steve Jordan

Former Vikings great, Steve Jordan

The Minnesota Vikings will induct former tight end Steve Jordan in the club’s Ring of Honor.

Jordan will be inducted into the Ring of Honor during a halftime ceremony at the Vikings game against Washington on Oct. 24, at U.S. Bank Stadium.  

“Steve Jordan’s impact on the Vikings has carried on past his career on the field,” said team co-owner Mark Wilf. “As great a player as Steve was, he is just as great an ambassador for the Vikings and the game of football. He is a positive role model to young NFL players about the value of education and how to use your platform for good.” 

Jordan was originally a seventh-round pick (179 overall) by the Vikings in 1982 and played 13 seasons for the club, 1982-1994, capping his career with 498 catches, 6,307 yards and 28 TDs. Jordan ranks third in team history with 498 catches, trailing only Cris Carter (1,004) and Randy Moss (587). He played in 176 career games for the club with 149 starts, ranking 14th in team history for games played and fifth among offensive skill position players. He was selected to six consecutive Pro Bowls – 1986, ’87, ’88, ’89, ’90 and ’91. In that six-season span Jordan led all NFL TEs with 287 receptions, 3,885 yards and was third among NFL TEs with 21 TDs. The only offensive players in team history with more Pro Bowl appearances than Jordan are Randall McDaniel (11), Cris Carter (eight), Ron Yary (seven) and Adrian Peterson (seven).  

In his final nine seasons (1986-94) Jordan won 3 NFC Central titles, made six playoff appearances, advanced to the 1987 NFC Championship Game and suffered only one losing season. At the time of his retirement in 1994, only Ozzie Newsome and Kellen Winslow had caught more passes as an NFL TE than Jordan’s 498.  

The addition of Jordan brings the Vikings Ring of Honor to 25 members. Current members include Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Fred Zamberletti, Jim Marshall, Ron Yary, Korey Stringer, Mick Tingelhoff, Carl Eller, Cris Carter, Bill Brown, Jerry Burns, Randall McDaniel, Chuck Foreman, John Randle, Scott Studwell, Chris Doleman, Matt Blair, Joey Browner, Ahmad Rashad, Randy Moss and Dennis Green.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.